Parthenon Marbles

Visit our campaign-dedicated website at

History of the Committee

Despite a mounting international campaign the British government has refused to sanction the return of the Parthenon Marbles to Greece.

In response, the AHEPA (Australia) Committee for the Restitution of the Parthenon Marbles was formed in 1981 under the chairmanship of Emanuel John Comino OAM, JP. It was the first committee in the world set up for restitution.

It’s task – to work towards securing the repatriation of the Parthenon Marbles.

In 1997, E.J. Comino was asked by the then Minister for Culture in the Greek Government, Professor Evangelos Venizelos, to make provision for non – AHEPAN and non-Hellenic members so the co-ordinating group was renamed “INTERNATIONAL ORGANISING COMMITTEE – AUSTRALIA – FOR THE RESTITUTION OF THE PARTHENON MARBLES” Inc.

The Committee is chaired by Emanuel John Comino AM JP who has campaigned since 1976 for the return of the Marbles, giving many lectures on the subject, throughout Australia and overseas.

In 2000 a New Zealand Committee was founded in Wellington by E.J. Comino and Gerald O’Brien was appointed as President.

In 2007 this Committee was successful in persuading the New Zealand Government to pass unanimously a motion to support the return of the Parthenon Marbles to Greece.

In 2013 this Committee was successful in holding the International Colloquy for the Restitution of the Parthenon Marbles at the University of Sydney with the support of the NSW Premier the Hon. Barry O’Farrell and the Ambassador of Greece His Excellency Mr Haris Dafaranos.

Our Committee aims to bring pressure to bear on governments and influences public opinion to ensure the return of the Parthenon Marbles to Greece.

The committee coordinates its efforts with associated international committees.

The Parthenon Marbles were and remain an integral part of the Parthenon, a monument to the glory of Classical Greece and the civilisation it gave the world.