• CHAPTER THORON No 23 – Inauguration

Inauguration Invitation 07.12.2012

The new Chapter Thoron (Greek for “Gift”) was inaugurated and the foundation officers were installed in Brisbane QLD on Friday 7th December 2012.

The National President, Elias Doufas, attended the Inauguration/Installation and offered the congratulations of all Ahepans and presented the Charter from the National Lodge to the foundation President Nicholas Inglis.

The new Chapter consists mainly of younger members who are keen to continue the AHEPA Objectives and Principles of Education and Philanthropy.

Chapter THORON was created for the purpose of establishing a process for donations of grants to the Australian charitable organisations of Queensland in mainly the fields of Health, Education, Arts and Culture, Research and Science.

  • QLD Flood Recovery West End: Greeks Bearing Gifts Most Welcome!

28 July 2011 , 7:35 PM by Kelly Higgins-Devine

Brisbane’s Greek community has a strong affiliation with West End.

So when they saw the damage there and spoke to friends and relatives, the local chapter of the Australasian Hellenic Educational Progressive Association leapt into action.

It “adopted” a flood-affected family in Fairfield and took Easter gift baskets to locals hit hard by the floodwaters.

Drive presenter Kelly Higgins-Devine spoke with Goldie Lathouras from AHEPA and Nicki Cassimatis from Fairfield:

Here’s the link: http://blogs.abc.net.au/queensland/2011/07/flood-recovery-west-end-greeks-bearing-gifts-most-welcome.html?site=brisbane&program=612_drive





AHEPA QLD raises over $26,000 for the University of Queensland Chair of Classics

The combined AHEPA/University of Qld Committee raised the substantial sum of $26,000 towards the Chair of Classics at the University of Queensland.

The project started almost two years ago as just an idea – what can AHEPA do to assist the Chair of Classics which is after all, about our Greek heritage.  That very idea then became our commitment, and after many adverse happenings this project finally came to a very successful conclusion with our dinner at the Greek Community Centre on the evening of Friday 28th May 2010.

AHEPA QLD received very high accolades for the professional attitudes and work ethics – not just from our co-UQ committee members:  Professor Bob Milns, Dr Dorothy Watts, Marketing and Advancement Manager – Tara Young and as of a few months ago Executive Officer Patricia Robinson all from the Faculty of Arts, but also from the Executive Dean, Faculty of Arts, Professor Richard Fotheringham.

The Committee takes this opportunity to thank a number of people for their support throughout this project. Firstly, the State Lodge of Qld for having faith and allowing us to proceed with what was at that stage just a documented idea and more recently for subsidising and giving the opportunity for all AHEPA members to attend the dinner with the donation aspect of the entry ticket of $100.00.

The behind the scene members who were always there when we wanted help – Bro George and Sis Fanny Londy, Bro Steve Liassi, Bro Peter Kotis from radio 4EB who devoted a interview program with Professor Bob Milns, and tomorrow Bro Steve Liassi will also devote time on his program on 4EB to tell people of our success.  Also a special thanks to our President Sis Jane Di Lizio for her enthusiastic help and assistance since she took office.  Sis Jane your assistance was greatly appreciated.

Three very important people, although not officially members of our Committee worked tireless behind the scene, Sisters Mary Miller, Aleka Nicoletatos, and Eleni Georga.  These three wonderful Sisters supplied morning teas and full luncheons for our numerous meetings. Thanks must also go to Maryanne – daughter of Bro Tony Miller who generously gave her time and support throughout this project.

We also thank and acknowledge the huge input, equal determination and very high standard of professionalism our colleagues from the University of Queensland displayed throughout this project.

 Bro. Chris E. Georga.


For and on behalf of AHEPA  Committee,

Brothers Tony Miller and Mina Nicoletatos.